Status: ReleasedIMDb
Release date: 1981-01-14
Run time: 103 minute / 1:43
Budget: $4,100,000
Revenue: $14,225,876
Director: David Cronenberg
Production Companies: AVCO Embassy Pictures, Canadian Film Development Corporation (CFDC), Filmplan, Victor Solnicki Productions
Production Country: Canada


10 Seconds: The Pain Begins. 15 Seconds: You Can't Breathe. 20 Seconds: You Explode.

Categories: Horror, Science Fiction, Thriller
Darryl Revok is the most powerful of all the scanners, and is the head of the underground scanner movement for world domination. Scanners have great psychic power, strong enough to control minds; they can inflict enormous pain/damage on their victims. Doctor Paul Ruth finds a scanner that Revok hasn't, and converts him to their cause - to destroy the underground movement.


Stephen Lack
as Cameron Vale
Jennifer O'Neill
as Kim Obrist
Michael Ironside
as Darryl Revok
Patrick McGoohan
as Dr. Paul Ruth
Lawrence Dane
as Braedon Keller
Robert A. Silverman
as Benjamin Pierce
Lee Broker
as Security One
Mavor Moore
as Trevellyan
Adam Ludwig
as Arno Crostic
Murray Cruchley
as Programmer 1
Géza Kovács
as Killer in Record Store
Sonny Forbes
as Killer in Attic
Jérôme Tiberghien
as Killer in Attic
Denis Lacroix
as Killer in Barn
Fred Döderlein
as Dieter Tautz
Ronald Sanders Editor

David Cronenberg Director

David Cronenberg Writer

Claude Héroux Producer
Pierre David Executive Producer
Victor Solnicki Executive Producer

Howard Shore Original Music Composer

Mark Irwin Director of Photography

Carol Spier Art Direction

Costume & Make-Up
Delphine White Costume Design

Stephan Dupuis Makeup Effects
Chris Walas Makeup Effects
Dick Smith Makeup Effects

Costume & Make-Up
Constant Natale Hairstylist
Brigitte McCaughry Makeup Artist

Don Buchsbaum Production Manager

Gary Zeller Special Effects
Tom Schwartz Makeup Effects

Vioos | Movie Database

© 2013